International College

Gravida has an ‘International College’ of global experts who provide leadership to its members working on cutting edge research in reproduction, pregnancy, growth and development.

The International College, convened by Gravida Founding Director, Distinguished Professor Sir Peter Gluckman, will meet every two years to address critical issues for in the area of growth and development, such as obesity – drawing on the experiences that their own countries are facing. Each International College member has also committed to assisting with peer review of Gravida members’ funding applications and projects, and to help mentor Gravida PhD students and postdoctoral fellows.

The full list of 30 college members is:

Professor Lord Robert Winston – Emeritus Professor of Fertility Studies, Imperial College London, UK (also Gravida’s international Patron)

Professor Gillian Bentley – Professor in Health, Health Sciences, Medical Anthropology, Centre for Integrated Health Care Research, University of Durham, UK

Dr Graham Burdge – Institute of Developmental Sciences, Southampton General Hospital; Editor-in-Chief of Nutrition Research Reviews; editorial board member of both the British Journal of Nutrition and Proceedings of the Nutrition Society; Reader in Human Nutrition, School of Medicine, The University of Southampton, UK

Dr Patrick Catalano – Director, Center for Reproductive Health, Metrohealth Medical Center (primary, secondary and emergency care network in Ohio), USA

Assoc Prof Yap Seng Chong – National University Hospital, Women’s Centre and Principal Investigator of the National Research Foundation Metabolic Translational and Clinical Research Flagship Programme, National University Hospital, Singapore.

Prof Marilyn Cipolla – Department of Neurological Sciences, College of Medicine, University of Vermont, USA

Prof Sandra Davidge – Department of Physiology, University of Alberta, Canada

Prof Anne Ferguson-Smith – Department of Physiology, Development and Neuroscience, University of Cambridge, UK

Prof Yechiel Friedlander – Department of Social Medicine, School of Public Health, The Hebrew University – Hadassah School of Public Health, Israel

Prof Keith Godfrey – Professor of Epidemiology & Human Development at the MRC Lifecourse Epidemiology Unit at the University of Southampton; Director of the Centre for Developmental Origins of Health & Disease; and an Honorary Consultant within Southampton University Hospitals NHS Trust, University of Southampton, UK

Dr Paul Greenwood – Principal Research Scientist in Animal Production Research within Australian Government NSW Department of Primary Industries Livestock Systems; joint appointments at CSIRO Livestock Industries and Beef Industry Centre; and an Adjunct Professor in the School of Environment and Rural Science at the University of New England, Australia

Dr Richard Horton – Editor-in-Chief, The Lancet, London, UK

Prof Louise Kenny – Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Cork University Maternity Hospital, Ireland

Prof Mark Kilby – Birmingham Women’s Foundation, NHS Trust, UK

Prof Dr. Berthold KoletzkoProfessor of Paediatrics, Consultant Paediatrician, and Head of the Division of Metabolic and Nutritional Medicine, Dr von Hauner Children's Hospital, University of Munich Medical Centre, Germany. Also President-Elect of the European Society of Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition, University of Munich, Germany

Prof Dennis Lo – Associate Dean (Research) of the Faculty of Medicine of Chinese University of Hong Kong; Director of the Li Ka Shing Institute of Health Sciences, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Prof Stephen Lye – Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, University of Toronto; Assistant Director Samuel Lunenfeld Research Institute; and Vice President Research, Mount Sinai Hospital, Mount Sinai Hospital, Canada

Prof Runlin Ma – Institute of Genetics and Developmental Biology, Chinese Academy of Science, China

Prof John Mattick – Executive Director, Garvan Institute of Medical Research; Conjoint Professor in the St Vincent's Clinical School and Visiting Professorial Fellow, School of Biotechnology & Biomolecular Science, University of New South Wales, Garvan Institute, Australia

Prof Les Myatt – Professor and Chairman, University of Texas Health Science Center, San Antonio and a director of The American Board of Obstetrics and Gynaecology and under the Residency Research Committee for Obstetrics and Gynaecology, University of Texas Health Science Center, USA

Prof John Newnham – Head of School/Winthrop Professor, School of Women's and Infants' Health, The University of Western Australia, Australia

Prof Sjurdur Olsen – Adjunct Professor of Nutrition, Department of Nutrition, Harvard School of Public Health. Also a founding member of the Danish National Birth Cohort, Harvard, USA

Dr Richard Saffery – Cancer & Disease Epigenetics, Murdoch Childrens Research Institute, Royal Children's Hospital, Victoria, Australia

Prof Robert Saint – Dean of Science, Department of Genetics, University of Melbourne; and standing member of the Australian Prime Minister’s Science Engineering and Innovation Council (PMSEIC), University of Melbourne, Australia

Prof Colin Sibley – Director of the Maternal and Fetal Health Research Centre in Manchester, one of three Centres in the UK, funded by Tommy's; Head of the Research and Innovation Division at Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust; President, International Federation of Placenta Associations; Editorial Board, Journal of Endocrinology, The University of Manchester, UK

Prof Stephen Stearns – Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology; founding Editor of the Journal of Evolutionary Biology, Yale University, New Haven, USA

Dr Andrew Thompson – Department of Agriculture and Food, Western Australian Government and Program Leader, Sheep CRC in Australia, Australia

Assoc Prof Kim Vonnahme – Department of Animal Sciences, North Dakota State University, USA

Dr Jacqueline Wallace – Rowett Institute of Nutrition and Health, University of Aberdeen, UK

Prof Mary Wlodek – Department of Physiology, The University of Melbourne, Australia